Interesting Book Stories

Afternoon People.

I’ve been collecting Doctor Who books on-and-off since 2018, but it was only last year that I kicked things into high gear and started pooling all my resources into my collection.

I was wondering if anyone here had any interesting stories of how they got a Doctor Who book?

Like - for example - I actually bought my copy of ‘The Well-Mannered War’ from acclaimed BigFinish writer, Joseph Lidster.

13 Likes

Not anything crazy but I was at an estate sale awhile ago because they had several doctor who comics and magazines and I ran into a guy who was collecting items for his antique mall store. He was very nice and gave me his business card, afterwards I decided to check it out and it turned out to be the same place I had been buying all my doctor who books from for the past couple of years! I don’t see many doctor who fans in my area either so running into him was a really fun coincidence :))

7 Likes

Well, mine are all acquired in normal ways - a few gifts, most bought new, others bought used, usually online.

Happy Endings is the only one I can think of with any story attached. In 1996, I took my (didn’t know it at the time but soon to be ex)wife to the U.K. for our 5th anniversary, and we took a tour that started and ended in London.

This was not planned, but we happened to be in London the same time as a signing event for the TV Movie. Well, the movie’s release was held up so it was a signing for anything.

I bought two books, The Novel of the Film and Happy Endings and Sylvester McCoy signed them. The one I gave to my friend, kept the other.

I’m not one to collect autographs, but this one is a memory of a very fun day. Sylv was very nice, plus I was the only one at the signing who had actually seen the thing, so I got a lot of attention.

11 Likes