How do you decide what to listen to next?

I am pretty new to Big Finish and I think that it is hard to choose which series to listen to when there is so much content.

It is also hard to know where to start with some Doctors/series. For example, everyone talks well about the 8th doctor but do I start from the MR or from the 8th doctor adventures or someone else? Does anyone have any tips?

3 Likes

You could always use the bespoke ‘randomiser’ on the main site :smiley:

I tend to randomise my next listen although since joining TARDIS Guide, I’m now getting the itch to work through more ranges chronologically - at least for short bursts.

2 Likes

I have thought about going the random route but I don’t want to miss any continuity. The consequence of this is that I have mostly listened to shorter series with characters that I know from TV.

Oh my, looks like I have to listen to Scherzo next… Thanks randomiser…

4 Likes

I haven’t listened to much Big Finish, but with the ones I did, it was largely either Doctors I liked, or audio books I’d heard good things about.

How about listening to “Spare Parts”? Costs $3.79, and it’s absolutely classic. Think “Genesis of the Daleks”, only for Cybermen.

3 Likes

Spare Parts is definitely a good standalone listen. And as one of the first 50 main range releases freely available on most music streaming services :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

For the most part, you could pick any audio from a Doctor you like or a range that seems interesting and go from there, as they are mostly standalone. There are exceptions, though, and the 8th Doctor is one of them, as BF has been building quite a story arc for him ever since Paul McGann joined Big Finish in 2001.